Voyager Estate replies to question about climate change denial: “Why do you ask?”

As per my post (Prominent Australian wine maker is “sceptical of climate change), I have been investigating possible connections to the denial movement and Australian businesses and organisations.

After several days of waiting Voyager Estate have replied. In short, they ask why would I ask:

Thank you for your email of 19 April 2010 which has been forwarded to me for reply.

In the interests of providing a relevant response, I would be grateful if you could let me know some information about you and the reasons for your enquiry.

Kind regards

[Name etc. not published]

Voyager Estate (if it is indeed the same company) features prominently in Climate Change: The Facts. If this is their stated position, then one would hope they would back that up or correct any misconceptions.

The reply is from management. My response, as follows:

Dear [name]

Thank you for your reply dated 20 April 2010. My interest is two fold.

Firstly, I came across the publication “Climate Change: The Facts” and noted that Voyager Estate was featured prominently as an organisation calling for an “open debate” on climate change. Having been to your winery – and sampled both the wines and food – I was curious to know if it was indeed your organisation.

Secondly, and to be honest, I maintain a blog that explores the issue of climate change. I had noted Voyager Estates possible connection to this publication and believed your organisation has a right of reply. If I am [under] the misapprehension that Voyager Estate is in no way connected to the IPA publication and not a signatory to the petition, then I will happily correct that. I’d note that I have also contacted the IPA to confirm this facts as well.

Given the very public position that seems to have been taken, as a member of the public I believe Voyager Estate is beholden to clarify the issue.

You may see my initial comments here: https://watchingthedeniers.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/prominent-australian-wine-maker-is-sceptical-of-climate-change/

Therefore, I would greatly appreciate if you could clarify my initial questions.

I stress this:  if I am wrong, I’ll happily retract my initial statements and apologise for any errors.

2 thoughts on “Voyager Estate replies to question about climate change denial: “Why do you ask?”

  1. John Grant says:

    Actually, their response is pretty bizarre already, isn’t it?

  2. Watching the Deniers says:

    It was – however, I will give them the benefit of the doubt. No doubt a response needs to be formulated with an eye on public perception. That’s their right as well. As a business they have to be mindful of their “brand”. However, I’m keen to see what they have to say.

Leave a Reply

