The Ides of March come more than once a year down under

Men at some time are masters of their fates:
The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars,
But in ourselves, that we are underlings.

And so it is done.

We have removed another Prime Minister from office. I was also part of the chorus calling for her resignation.

Did I feel my reasons were justified?

Perhaps.

Pragmatism tells me a hard choice had to be made.

Pragmatism tells me it was needed to avoid a forthcoming decade or more of conservative rule.

Without doubt we would have seen the stripping away of environmental and social protections under an Abbott led government with a super-majority.

Pragmatism told me something had to be done to avoid – or blunt the scale of – the victory of politicians beholden to mining billionaires.

Pragmatism called for the sacrifice of the individual for the sake of many.

But my conscience knows something very wrong took place, that all of us – every adult Australian – was complicit.

Every politician, every journalist, every pundit and every voter: we all have blood on our hands.

The Ides of March come more than once a year down under.

We have revealed our dark hearts: a nation of assassins.

5 thoughts on “The Ides of March come more than once a year down under

  1. Julia Gillard’s speech on being deposed was amazingly dignified and measured and as such reinforced my respect for her. Kevin Rudd during his first term in office turned me off the Labor party and into the ranks of the independents, despite my respect for Julia Gillard I will remain an independent supporter for the time being. I suspect the Labor party will have its greatest challenges ahead internally.
    On another matter, reading the ‘loon pond’ site today was completely unsurprised to see reference to the dismissive ‘opinion piece’ from the IPA within the Australian newspaper regarding president Obama’s statements on global warming.It amazes me that self interest can be used to such an extent, reason, logic or any morals are completely absent from their behaviour.

  2. Regardless, Rudd is tearing the coalition a new one in question time.

  3. Rachel says:

    Personally I think both Gillard and Rudd should have stepped down and let Malcolm Turnbull take over leadership of the ALP ;-)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

