Heartland’s Law: even sceptics can’t stomach Heartland

It seems Heartland has really sunk to new lows, prominent climate change sceptic Donna Laframboise has pulled out of their annual lets-deny-reality conference:

But my participation in the upcoming Heartland conference has now become untenable. I’m a Canadian who has never been a member of any political party. Sometimes I agree with the left, sometimes I agree with the right. Many people base their climate opinions on the political tribe to which they belong. I’m not one of them…

And:

Well here’s the problem. My name – and the name of my book – is currently on the same page of the Heartland website where the above quote appears. Without prior knowledge or informed consent, my work has been aggressively associated with this odious ad campaign.

Forget disappointment. In my view, my reputation has been harmed. And the Heartland thinks it has nothing to apologize for.

Adding insult to injury, it proclaims that it will “continue to experiment” with how it presents its message. That’s all well and good. But being collateral damage in someone else’s ongoing marketing experiments isn’t my idea of a good time.

Noted sceptic and economist Ross McKirick isn’t happy either:

You cannot simultaneously say that you want to promote a debate while equating the other side to terrorists and mass murderers. Once you have done such a thing you have lost the moral high ground and you can never again object if someone uses that kind of rhetoric on you.

I have just been cc’d on an email from someone who wrote to both my dean and university president, expressing his outrage that a UofG professor is party to such billboards. Had this simply been someone objecting to my speaking at Heartland I could easily have (and would have) defended myself. But notwithstanding that I have tenure and have the full right to speak wherever I want, the fact is that I have to agree with the person — I’m appalled.

 At least we can see a reasoned, well articulated response from some of the more prominent “sceptics”.

9 thoughts on “Heartland’s Law: even sceptics can’t stomach Heartland

  1. [...] Heartland’s Law: even sceptics can’t stomach Heartland « Watching the Deniers Share and Enjoy:Written by: Jerrald Hayes on May 7, 2012. [...]

  2. john byatt says:

    A few of the guys paid geoff a visit after his heartland post, hehe

    his mental deficiency is most obvious in his pathetic attempts to reply

    http://theclimatescepticsparty.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/do-you-believe-in-man-made-global.html#comment-form

  3. john byatt says:

    opportunistic self serving rats as well,

  4. Mike says:

    The rats abandoning a sinking ship.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 767 other followers

